May 27 & 28, 2021

The treatments typically used on copper foils are often essential for PCBs to survive thermal shock. However, the same treatments can have a detrimental effect on signal loss for high frequency/5G applications which require very low-profile copper foil and low-loss resin systems for optimum electrical performance. Join us in this call-for-participation webinar to learn how the Reliability & Loss Properties of Copper Foils for 5G Applications team plans to characterize various copper surface treatments to mitigate signal loss while still maintaining good adhesion and, hence, durability of the PCB.
We will review the increasing requirements for smooth copper to minimize signal loss within PCB structures, and how this smooth copper can be a challenge to reliability. In addition, the team plans a comparative study to determine signal loss from copper roughening by the pre-bonding chemical treatment during PCB fabrication (oxide alternative process). Ongoing developments in PCB material, fabrication and metrology will be described. The overall objective of the project will be to correlate surface finish to durability to signal loss in order to optimize the design and qualification of PCBs for future high-speed applications.
Join us for one of two call-for-participation webinars to learn more about this project. The sessions are open to industry; advance registration is required. For additional information about this project, contact Steve Payne (steve.payne@inemi.org).
Session 1
Thursday May 27, 2021
11:00 a.m. — 12:00 p.m. EDT (Americas)
5:00-6:00 p.m. CEST (Europe)
For additional details & registration
Session 2
Friday, May 28
7:00-8:00 a.m. CST (China)
7:00-8:00 p.m. EDT (Americas) on May 27
For additional details & registration